Here’s how to temporarily disable an account on Facebook: Facebook may sometimes get frustrating, and you can feel the need to deactivate your account and take a little break. With your details still intact, Facebook allows you to momentarily uninstall/remove your account and come back again.
Deactivating your account, though, is different from permanently disabling your account. You won’t have any things going on on your profile directly after your account is deactivated. Nevertheless, Facebook will still have your results.
How to Temporarily Deactivate Facebook Account
You can choose to deactivate your account temporarily and choose to come back whenever you want.
To deactivate your account:
- Tap the arrow sign at the top right of any Facebook page.
- Click Settings, then tap Your Facebook Information in the left column.
- Select Deactivation and Deletion.
- Select Deactivate Account, then tap Continue to Account Deactivation and follow the instructions to confirm.
When your account is temporarily deactivated:
- No one can see your profile.
- Your friends may still be able to see your name in their friend’s list.
- Some of your data, like messages you sent your friends, may still be visible.
- This will only be visible to your friends, and only from their friend’s list.
- Group admins might still be able to see your posts and comments, along with your name.
Be aware that if you keep Messenger active or are logged into Messenger when you deactivate your Facebook account, then Messenger will remain active.
If your Facebook account is deactivated, but you still logged in to Messenger: You can still chat with friends on Messenger.
Your Facebook profile picture will be visible in your conversations on Messenger.
Reactivating your Facebook Account
If you want to return to Facebook after you have deactivated your account successfully, you can reactivate your account by logging back into Facebook or logging in somewhere else using your Facebook account.
Bear in mind, to complete the re-activation, you would need to have access to your email or mobile number that you still use to log in.
If you are unable to recall your password, you may ask for a new one. If the email associated with your account can also not be reached, learn how to reactivate your account.
Note, to complete the reactivation, you’ll need to have access to the email or mobile number you use to log in.
What Happens When You Delete Facebook Account Permanently
- You cannot be able to reactivate your account.
- You can not be able to use Facebook Messenger.
- Your whole profile, photos, posts, videos, and everything else you have added will be permanently deleted. Retrieving any information won’t be possible.
- Some of your information, like messages you sent to friends, may still be visible to them after you delete your account. Replica’s of messages you have sent are stored in your friends’ inboxes.
- Signing into other platforms using Facebook Login will no longer work, you may have signed up for with your Facebook account, like Spotify or Pinterest. You will have to contact the apps and websites to recover those accounts.
How to Permanently Delete An Account
You may want to log in and download a copy of your details (like your pictures and posts) from Facebook just before you delete your Facebook account. You will be unable to recover everything you have added immediately after your account has been deleted.
Download a Copy of Your Facebook Data:
- On the top right of Facebook and tap the arrow sign
- Tap Settings.
- Tap Your Facebook Information.
- Select Download your Information and tap View.
- Tap the boxes on the right side of Facebook to choose the categories of data from your request.
- Select other options, including File Format, Quality of photos, videos and other media.
- Specific date Range. If you do not select a date range, you will request all the information for the categories you have selected.
- Tap Create File to confirm the download request.
It will be displayed as Pending in the Available Files section of the “Update Your Information Tool” immediately after you have made an update request. It may take Facebook a few days to finish planning your download request.
You will get a message letting you know it’s ready once they have finished planning your update request.
To download a copy of the data you requested:
- Navigate the Available Files section of the Download your Information tool.
- Tap Download and enter your password.
- You may also tap Show more to view information about your download request, such as the format and when it will expire.
How to Permanently Delete your Account
- Click the arrow at the top right of any Facebook page.
- Select Settings, then click Your Facebook Information in the left column.
- Tap Deactivation and Deletion.
- Select Delete Account, then tap Continue to Account Deletion.
- Input your password, tap Continue, and then tap Delete Account.
How to Cancel An Account Deletion
If less than 30 days have passed since you started the deletion process, you can still cancel the deletion of your account. Your account and all of its information will be completely deleted after it reaches 30 days and you will not be able to recover your information.
It may take 90 days to uninstall all the stuff you have shared on Facebook from the beginning of the deletion process. Although Facebook will delete your information, other users using Facebook will not be able to access your information.
We hope you’ve found this very post helpful.